Go back

Collection: Houston Oilers

The Houston Oilers were a professional American football team that played in the National Football League (NFL) from 1960 to 1996. The team was originally based in Houston, Texas, and played their home games at the Astrodome from 1968 to 1996. The Oilers had some notable players during their history, including Hall of Famers like Earl Campbell, George Blanda, and Warren Moon. The team reached the playoffs 17 times, won two AFL championships, and made one Super Bowl appearance in 1979. However, the Oilers struggled in their later years, and the team was eventually moved to Tennessee and became the Tennessee Titans in 1997. Despite no longer being in existence, the Houston Oilers remain a beloved and iconic part of Houston's sports history.